## **Executive Summary and Recommendations**

## Introduction

Membership of the statutory and non-statutory committees was agreed after the establishment of the Shadow Council in July 2001. At that time the President and Vice-President became ex-officio members of a number of committees and the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Education and Training Committee became ex-officio members of the Registration Committee.

It is proposed that this situation should be reviewed and that ex-officio membership of committees should no longer continue. In particular, ex-officio membership may result in a person nominally being a member of a committee when they should not be, for example, a person who sits on registration appeals being on the Registration Committee. In future the President should receive papers for all committee meetings and should have the right to attend however she would not be a member of the committee and her attendance would not count towards the numbers required to ensure that the meeting was quorate. Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of all committees would be entitled to attend meetings of committees of which they were not members only on the specific invitation of that committee.

In view of the fact that Colin Lea is Chairman of the Finance and Resources Committee it is proposed that he become a full member of that committee (and not an ex-officio member as previously).

It is also proposed that Gordon Sutehall and Diane Waller become full members of the Registration Committee.

## Decision

The Council is requested to approve the above proposal.