Health and Care Professions Council – 18 September 2012

health & care professions council

Committee Appointments

Executive summary and recommendations

Introduction

- 1. In July 2012, two Council members resigned from their position as Council members, namely Deep Sagar and Malcolm Cross. The Executive wrote to the Privy Council in August to seek permission to carry those vacancies on Council on the basis that the Council is due to be restructured in 2013, and it was anticipated that the Council would be reduced to between 8 and 12 members.
- 2. However, to ensure quoracy at Committee meetings, it was agreed that appointments should be made to Committees and no vacancies carried. The Executive wrote to all Council members requesting expressions of interest for the vacancies with a view to submitting recommendations to Council at the September meeting.
- 3. In accordance with the process, the Secretary to Council and the Chair of Council considered the expressions of interest and accordingly recommend that the following appointments be made:-

Audit Committee: Julia Drown Education and Training Committee (Lay position): Sheila Drayton Finance and Resources Committee: Pradeep Agrawal Fitness to Practise Committee: Richard Kennett and Joy Tweed.

- 4. To ensure that these appointments end at the same time as those appointments made by Council in July, it is recommended that the appointments outlined in paragraph 3 be made until July 2013.
- 5. Appendix one shows the current Committee composition should approval be given to the appointments outlined above. You will note that one vacancy remains on the Finance and Resources Committee and this is due to Julia Drown having to relinquish this Committee responsibility in order to sit on the Audit Committee.

Decision

6. The Council is agree the following appointments to Committees for a period until July 2013:-

Audit Committee: Julia Drown

Education and Training Committee (Lay position): Sheila Drayton Finance and Resources Committee: Pradeep Agrawal Fitness to Practise Committee: Richard Kennett and Joy Tweed.

Background information

Committee appointments paper agreed by Council in July 2012

Resource implications None

Financial implications The cost of holding Committee meetings is allocated within the Committee budget 2012/13.

Background papers None

Appendices None

Date of paper 5 September 2012



Appendix 1 – Committee composition (subject to approval of appointments)

Audit Committee

Julia Drown (new member) Jeff Lucas Morag MacKellar Joy Tweed

Communications Committee

Julia Drown Sheila Drayton Morag MacKellar Arun Midha Joy Tweed Diane Waller

Education and Training Committee

Jo-anne Carlyle * June Copeman * Mary Clark-Glass Helen Davis * Sheila Drayton (new member) John Donaghy Stephen Hutchins * Jeff Lucas Stuart Mackay * Arun Midha Penny Renwick Jeff Seneviratne * Robert Smith * Jois Stansfield * **Eileen Thornton** Joy Tweed **Diane Waller** Stephen Wordsworth *

* = non-Council committee member

Finance and Resources Committee

Pradeep Agrawal (new member) Jennifer Beaumont Frank Burdett Mary Clark-Glass Sheila Drayton Richard Kennett Arun Midha Penny Renwick Keith Ross One vacancy

Fitness to Practise Committee

Pradeep Agrawal Jennifer Beaumont John Donaghy Julia Drown Richard Kennett (new member) Morag MacKellar Penny Renwick Keith Ross Robert Templeton Joy Tweed (new member)